The national leadership of All Progressives Congress (APC) has charged State Congress Committee in each state of the federation to carry all stakeholders within the party along during the congress slated for Saturday.
APC National Organising Secretary, Senator Osita Izunaso who inaugurated the committees on behalf of the National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun stated this on Thursday in Abuja.
Izunaso told the congress must be conducted in strict conformity with the official APC Guidelines for State Congresses

He said the State Congress Committees are expected to hold meetings with stakeholders in the respective states on Friday before Saturday’s nationwide Congresses to elect State executive committee which include the traditional 17-member State Working Committees.
The Organising Secretary urged the Congress Committees to ensure a free, fair, democratic and transparent process. He also warned against unilateral postponement of Sate Congresses without approval by the Party’s National Working Committee (NWC).

  “Don’t deny anybody who has a payment teller a form. It is undemocratic… You don’t have the power to postpone the election. If you go to a State and you find out that it is impossible to conduct the election, you inform the NWC for approval. The National Convention is closeby, we want to conclude these processes as quickly as possible.” He added

For the Appeal Committees, Izunaso said every petition from individuals who contested elections must be entertained. He cautioned the Appeal Committees to gauge the security situation in their respective state in deciding where to hold Appeal sittings.
 He said the NWC has the final decision on Appeals. “If the place is volatile for the Appeal Committee, and they cannot sit there, you can sit in Abuja.” Izunaso said.
 The  committee comprises five-member State Congress Committees to conduct Congresses in different states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) on Saturday and Three-member committees to entertain appeals that may arise from the State Congresses.

Some State Congress Chairmen are H.E. Pius Odubu (Adamawa); Gen. Danjuma Danbazzau (Taraba); Prince Austin Eweka (Kano); Sen. Domingo Obende (Niger); Sen. Jonathan Zwingina (Abia); Sen. Olugbenga Obadara (Delta); Sen. Uche Ekwunife (Lagos); Hon. Mathew Omegara (Ondo); H.E. Peter Obadan (Ogun); H.E. Abdullahi Gwarzo (Oyo) among others.

The Appeal committees have among others H.E. Chris Akoma as chairman of Ebonyi State; Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye (Rivers); Hon. Bashir Lado (Ogun); Alh. SAbubakar Maikudi (Bauchi); Amb. Jerry Ugog (Kano); Barr. Kogolo Peter (Imo).

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

APC State Congress: Carry Every Stakeholders Along-APC Tells Officials