Buhari removes Kachikwu as NNPC GMD, appoints new board for corporation

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the composition of the Board of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), as provided for under Section 1(2) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Act of 1997, as amended. The new board is chaired by the Minister of State for Petroleum, Dr Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu with the Group Managing Director, NNPC, Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru and the Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance as members. Other members included Mallam Abba Kyari; Dr Thomas M.A John; Dr Pius O. Akinyelure; Dr Tajuddeen Umar; Mallam Mohammed Lawal, and Mallam Yusuf Lawal. In a statement by the Special Adviser to the President on media and publicity, Mr. Femi Adesina on Monday, President Buhari urged the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, ” and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset.”

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>