Governor Godwin Obaseki speaks after re-election

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has officially declared Governor Godwin Obaseki winner of the Saturday’s governorship election in Edo State. INEC’s Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Akpofure Rim-Rukeh, declared Obaseki winner of the election after polling the highest number of votes as mandated by the law.

Watch Also: Oshiomhole queues to cast vote at Etsako polling unit at EdoDecides2020

The results collated in 18 LGAs early Sunday, show that the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, won in 15 Local Government Areas of the state. Obaseki, who is the PDP’s governorship candidate defeated his closest rival, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with a total of 307,955. Ize-Iyamu, however, polled a total of 223,619.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>