June 12: Lagos, Ekiti, 4 other southwest states declare June 12 public holiday

Lagos State government and 5 other Southwest states declare Monday public holiday to mark June 12 celebration
The holiday is to honour Chief M.K.O Abiola and the ideals which June 12, 1993, presidential election represents.
The June 12 messages of the governors read in part:
“June 12, 1993 is a day we must not forget in the annals of our democratic history, our present democratic experience may still be far from the ideal but we must all make concerted efforts to entrench fiscal federalism which is the only way to achieve true nationhood. We owe it a duty to genuinely immortalize the fallen heroes of the June 12 struggle nationally and deepen our democratic values to ensure that never again will such anti-people action be allowed to take place”.
Lagos State governor Akinwunmi Ambode

“Yoruba nation’s interest is beyond personal interest of anyone. For us to forge ahead as a people, we must speak with one voice. In the light of this, I declare Monday a public holiday to further strengthen our collective belief, hope and aspirations. This, I have done in the spirit of Yoruba nation and South West integration.”
Ekiti State governor, Ayo Fayose

“In line with its established policy of observing June 12 of every year as ‘Democracy Day,’ the state government of Osun has declared Monday, June 12, as a public holiday.”
Osun State Governor, Rauf Aregbesola
“As part of programmes lined up to celebrate the day, the state government has organised a lecture, with the theme: “June 12: A celebration of courage and resilience.”
Ondo State Governor, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu
“This year’s celebration will feature the annual ‘Democracy Walk’, which will be led by the governor, starting from the June 12 Cultural Centre, Kuto, Abeokuta at 7am. The walk is expected to take participants through major roads in the state capital to the Abiola family homestead at Oke-Ido, Gbagura, Abeokuta North Local Government Area, where special prayers and speeches will be made”.
Ogun State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>