How Senator relied on ‘torchlight’ during public hearing

Senate has put in place, measures to establish a new federal tertiary institution in Daura, Katsina State, home and state of President Muhammadu Buhari and in three other different states of the federation The four proposed federal institutions are Federal Polytechnic, Daura, Katsina State; Federal University of Education, Aguleri, Anambra State; Federal Polytechnic Ikom, Cross River; and the National Institute of Construction Technology and Management, Uromi, Edo State. The bills were sponsored by Senators Ahmed Babba Kaita (APC, Katsina), Victor Umeh (APGA, Anambra), John Owan-Enoh (APC, C/River) and Clifford Ordia (PDP, Edo) respectively. The public hearing was organised by the Senate Committee on Tertiary Institutions and TETFUND, headed by Senator Barau Jibrin (APC, Kano). Declaring open the public hearing, yesterday, Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, said that the four bills were as a result of the Senate’s commitment to quality education in the country.