Senate confirms Aisha Ahmad, Adamu as CBN Deputy Governors, rejects Asheikh Maidugu

The Senate on Thursday confirmed nominees to serve as Monetary Policy Committee, MPC, members of the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, which was sent to it by President Muhammadu Buhari in November last year.

The development followed Senate’s resolution on 14th March, 2018 to screen the nominees after setting aside their earlier position not to do so, due to the lingering frosty relationship between the legislature and executive.

Submitting its report, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and other Financial Institutions, Senator Rafiu Adebayo disclosed that one of the nominees, Dr. Asheikh A. Maidugu failed the screening.
He urged the Senate to reject the confirmation of Mr. Maidugu based on the report.
“That the Senate do receive and consider the report of Committee on Banking, Insurance and Financial Institutions on the confirmation of the nomination of the following nominations,” the report read in part.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>